271 Capped Cricketers in Wivenhoe up to 2010

In 2011, Jon Wiseman compiled a list of players worthy of being 'capped'.

Page created by Peter Hill from material supplied by Jon Wiseman

Poster WTCC - Some of the 271 'capped' players 1896 - 2010
Jon Wiseman - Author of the Story of Wivenhoe Cricket, published in 2011
Picture by EADT published Saturday 30th July 2011
Poster promoting the book 'The Story of Wivenhoe Cricket' by Jon Wiseman published in 2011
Cover of the book 'The Story of Wivenhoe Cricket' by Jon Wiseman published in 2011

In researching material for his book, the Story of Wivenhoe Cricket, Jon Wiseman compiled a list of over 1200 names of people who had played cricket for Wivenhoe Cricket Club.  After discussing the idea with fellow members, he selected 271 of them to be called ‘capped’ for the Cricket Club on a similar basis as used by other cricketing bodies. That is, a player is usually awarded a ‘cap’ after having achieved a certain standard, often based on runs scored or wickets taken but also on the general level of contribution made.  Anyone therefore being ‘capped’ should feel pride at being so marked out in this way.

The full list of 271 names is in the book and in the Clubhouse of the Cricket Club. For a pdf copy of the book click here

Jon’s daughter, Amy, a talented graphic designer and illustrator, produced a poster featuring pictures of almost all of the cricketers for whom photographs exist. (Amy Wiseman:  a.wiseman.design@gmail.com and website:  awisemandesign.com/index.html

A Selection of Wivenhoe Town Cricket Club Officers, Captains and Cup Winners from 1896 to 2010

Back Row:  Bob Bristow, Patrick Witham, Cliff Scofield, Michael Pulford, Steve Wilkerson, Graham Bowden, Will Morgan, Peter Scutt, Henry Bird, Andrew Golding, Tom Allison, Ray Sidaway, Nigel Philp, Richard Gregory, Terry Cannings, Mick Hemstedt, Brian Richardson, Edgar Earp, Richard Hemstedt, Ray Bailey, Justin Edrich, Andy Green, Bob Smith, John Braithwaite

Middle Row:  Mike Lucking sen., Tony Hammond, Kevin Sparling, Gerry Dunstan, Brendan Ward, Stan Scofield, Len Drinkell, Paul Tonkinson, Julian Roach, Neil Foster, Ron Woods, Neil Binks, Clive Woods, Adrian Brown, Billy Godleman, Charles Scofield, Les Compton, Dr. George Pender-Smith, John Seadon, Roger Bacon, Andy Halsey, Alan Foster, Barry Lock, Len Miles

Front Row:  Darren Selley, Malcolm Turner, Tom Forsgate, Easton Harwood, Steve Tasker, Mike Lucking jun., Ernie Frost, Peter Bather, Mark Britton, Ernie Mayes, Nik Lucking, William Loveless, Jon Wiseman, Archie Turner, Charles Ashley, Mike Kettle, Mike Phillips, Tony Forsgate, Simon Lucking, Peter Napper, Paul Coverley

Front Sitting:  Felix Faucheux (scorer), Digby Jephson


Note: To see the page about the 250 year History of Wivenhoe Town Cricket Club – click here

This page was added on 14/01/2022.

No Comments

Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this page!

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published.