River Colne Shipbuilders. A Portrait of Shipbuilding 1786-1988

By John Collins and Richard Dodds, Jardine Press, 2009, 314pp (Essex County Libraries E.623.83)

Added by Pat Marsden

A unique collaboration between John Collins and James Dodds reveals how the shipyards of the River Colne have played such an important part in the affairs of the nautical world.

The book charts the history of the shipyards and boat builders from 1786 to 1986 and follows the river, flowing downstream from Colchester Hythe, through Rowhedge and Wivenhoe, and on to Brightlingsea. Each yard is covered, from Stuttle’s at the Hythe to Aldous at Brightlingsea, from the speedy racing cutters and schooners of Sainty and Harvey to the innovations of iron and steel from Forrestt’s and Rowhedge Ironworks, and finally to the last yards which closed in the late 1980s.

This page was added on 23/03/2016.

No Comments

Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this page!

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *